Top Social

Review: Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

Thursday, September 29, 2011

4 Stars: A Great Read
Series: Cold Kiss #1
Hardback: 292 Pages
Publication: September 20, 2011 by HarperTeen

When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.

Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.

Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Amy Garvey has brought us a gem within the flurry of dark, tension-ridden paranormal romances. From the first pages, Amy caught me within the haunting, chilling embrace of Cold Kiss. The imagery is vivid, and Wren's yearning for the Danny before the car accident had me pining for him too. Zombie Danny is sweet, but he's cold, clingy, and has no heartbeat--a stark contrast from the once warm, vibrant, and living Danny.

Wren is a very relatable narrator. While her regret over Danny's situation give her a bleak view on her life, her sarcasm and wit add spice to the narration. You might question why she's so obsessed--protective--of Danny, but when she flashbacks to life before the accident, everything becomes clear. You might even want Danny for yourself.

It's clear that Wren has it bad for Danny. She really loved him. Now, she regrets having brought him back to life. Zombie Danny is needy. Taking care of him has caused her to push away her closest friends, and Wren has no desire to start a new relationship. However, Gabriel comes into her life and refuses to be daunted by her attempts to push him away. Their relationship takes time to develop unlike her relationship with Danny. It's fresh and sweet. I loved every moment of it.

So what about Wren's powers? Cold Kiss is a paranormal romance, but it is more about emotion than action. It is more about romance than powers. It's clear that Wren isn't quite normal; at the same time, Amy doesn't make a big deal about Wren's powers. It's different, and I like how it all comes together.

Cold Kiss is about love, regret, and moving on... with some supernatural happenings on the side. It is a definite must-read for those of you who seek emotion and soul in a book.


Related Posts
Hikar's Review of Cold Kiss


Add/Buy

An ARC was provided by the publisher for review purposes

7 comments on "Review: Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey"
  1. Seems like the reviews for this one are mixed--people either love it or hate it. Hopefully I'll fall into the "love it" category since I own it--I just haven't gotten to it yet. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've heard good things about this. I like that it focuses on the emotional growth more than the paranormal. Thanks for the review.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've heard many great reviews on this book - including yours - and I'm getting very intrigued it sounds so good. I love it when you can really imagine the story vividly and feel for the characters.

    Giselle
    Xpresso Reads

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm not really a zombie-ish kinda gal, but maybe I'll give it a shot, seeing now that it's focus is mainly on emotion. :) Thanks for giving me that extra 'push'. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. It's great when the narrator's experiences translate well - and she sounds like she's really unique.

    What a heartbreaking story!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds really good! I'm more of a paranormal kind of girl, but I'll take a story that doesn't focus on that as much if it's as good as you make it out to be! :) We'll seee.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've heard a lot of good things about this, but I haven't gotten the chance to read it yet. Maybe I'll have to pick it up soon.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for commenting. We love hearing from readers! To receive notifications of replies to your comments, just click “Notify me” in the bottom right corner of the comment box to subscribe to the thread! :)